I have been so tired lately …

Can a lack of protein be the cause of my fatigue?

The best part of your week, and the only place you go for your health & wellness tips.

I have been so tired lately …

Lately I have felt sort of like a zombie. I have been so tired, and my brain has felt like it was in a fog. I am functioning but not at my best. I went to my chiropractor, and she determined that my lethargy could be a from a lack of protein. I recently started upping my weight training game without increasing my protein intake.

Can a lack of protein be the cause of my fatigue?

Yes, a lack of protein in your diet can contribute to feelings of fatigue. Protein is essential for providing energy and supporting various bodily functions, including muscle repair and neurotransmitter synthesis. When you don't consume enough protein, your body may not have the necessary building blocks to function optimally, leading to fatigue and weakness. Additionally, protein helps regulate blood sugar levels, so inadequate protein intake can also result in fluctuations in energy levels throughout the day.

How much protein do I need if I am lifting weights?


The amount of protein you need when lifting weights can vary depending on factors such as your body weight, age, gender, activity level, and fitness goals. However, a general guideline for individuals engaging in strength training or weightlifting is to consume between 1.6 to 2.2 grams of protein per kilogram of body weight per day (or about 0.7 to 1 gram per pound of body weight).

For example, if you weigh 70 kilograms (154 pounds), you might aim to consume between 112 to 154 grams of protein per day.

It's important to spread your protein intake evenly throughout the day, including before and after your workouts, to support muscle repair and growth. You might also benefit from consuming a higher protein intake on days when you engage in particularly intense or prolonged weightlifting sessions.

Remember that individual protein needs can vary, so it may be helpful to adjust your protein intake based on how your body responds to your training regimen and to consult with a registered dietitian or nutritionist for personalized recommendations. Additionally, make sure to prioritize consuming high-quality protein sources such as lean meats, poultry, fish, eggs, dairy products, legumes, nuts, seeds, and tofu.

A serving of lentils typically provides around 9 grams of protein per 1/2 cup (cooked).

Sponsors

The information contained in this newsletter is presented for educational purposes. Nothing contained in this newsletter should be construed nor is intended to be used for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be used in place of the advice of your physician or other qualified health care provider. Should you have any health care related questions, please call or see your physician or other qualified health care provider promptly. Always consult with your physician or other qualified health care provider before making any changes to your healthcare routine. You should never disregard medical advice or delay in seeking it because of something you have read in this newsletter